Get Inspired: Do We Need Seven More Deadly Sins?

So, we’ve all heard of the original seven deadly sins: lust, gluttony, greed, sloth, wrath, envy, and pride. We all know it, but it’s not really something that scares us enough to live each and every day through them. Heck, even “America’s Next Top Model” did a photo shoot that glamorizes each sin. But recently, the Vatican announced seven new deadly sins that they stated would correspond to the secular globalization that has come about in recent times.

The Vatican stated that it is not only a deadly sin to be gluttonous or envious, but since science and technology has changed the world so much – it was necessary to add seven more in order to keep up with the changing world. So what are those sins?

Genetic Modification

Human Experimentations

Polluting the Environment

Social Injustice

Causing Poverty

Financial Gluttony

Taking Drugs

Honestly, when I found this out, I wondered if this was a way for the Vatican to bring more people into the confessional. They did state that the number of people confessing was decreasing every year. Is this a way for them to point more fingers at people to make them come to church in guilt?

While some of the ones I do agree that no one should do, taking drugs for example, I don’t know about a couple. Financial Gluttony? There are a handful of billionaires out there in the world and there are constantly more in the making. Are they going to be charged with financial gluttony because they have the motivation to make money? How much money is enough? In order to live comfortably in today’s society, one must make a certain amount of money to give way to certain luxuries in life. Is being “comfortable” a sin? What about Bill Gates? He’s one of the richest people in the world but he gives away millions of money towards his foundation.

So, what do you guys think?

Head on over to 1,000 Dreams Fund to learn how to get funding for your dreams!